top of page

Intro to Chakra

The word chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning “wheel of spinning energy” and refers to the seven main energy centers within our bodies. These 7 main chakras are in a line from the base of your spine to the top of your head. Each chakra has its own color associated with it and represents aspects of your physical, emotional, and spiritual bodies. Chakras respond to vibration, music and movement. The seven main chakras are thought to interact with our body through the endocrine system as outlined here:

  1. Crown chakra or Sahasrara. Located at the top of your head. It's color is violet, and is associated with your pineal gland, spirituality and divine awareness.

  2. Third eye chakra or Ajna. Located between your eyebrows and may also be called the Brow chakra. It's color is indigo and is associated with your pituitary gland, and intuition.

  3. Throat chakra or Vishuddhi. Located in the throat. It’s color is blue, and is associated with your thyroid, communication and self-expression.

  4. Heart chakra or Anahata. Its color is green and is associated with the heart, thymus, compassion, love, and healing.

  5. Solar plexus chakra or Manipura. It's color is yellow and is associated with your navel area, pancreas, self will, self esteem, courage, and personal power.

  6. Sacral chakra or Swadhisthana. It's color is orange and is associated with your genital area, ovaries, creativity, emotion and sensuality.

  7. Root chakra or Muladhara. It's color is red and is associated with the base of your spine, gonads, safety and survival, and sense of belonging.

Chakra act as energy receptors or nodes, spiritual energy known as Prana, flows through these seven points and with proper training you can learn to open up and align each of your seven chakras and harness this energy. For this energy to flow, the seven main chakras must stay open, aligned, and fluid. If there is any sort of blockage, energy cannot flow.

Balance - Keeping your chakra open and aligned can be a challenge, but not difficult when you practice awareness. Our bodies constantly move into and out of balance. Your mind, body, soul, and spirit are intimately connected, and awareness of any imbalance in one area will help bring the others back into balance.

Balance Methods - There are several approaches to healing, aligning and balancing chakras including:

  1. Chakra Meditation

  2. Affirmations

  3. Massage

  4. Color Vibration

  5. Music

  6. Energy Healers

  7. Chakra Stones

  8. Yoga

  9. Essential Oils

bottom of page